Tuesday, April 16, 2024
Tuesday, April 16, 2024
HomePakistanPower Sharing Formula Agreed Between PPP, PML-N Revealed

Power Sharing Formula Agreed Between PPP, PML-N Revealed

After several days of negotiations, the major political parties, PPP and PML-N, have reached an agreement on a power-sharing arrangement. As per the agreed formula, Shehbaz Sharif will be nominated for the position of Prime Minister, while Asif Ali Zardari will be in contention for the presidency.

The deal, finalized on Tuesday, involved discussions between the coordination committees of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP). The agreement comes after a period of uncertainty and talks of potential blackmail among the former coalition partners following the hung national assembly result of the February 8 elections.

The key positions to be distributed in the power-sharing arrangement are as follows:

For PPP:
Senate chairman
Punjab governor
KP governor
Baluchistan chief minister
Deputy speaker National Assembly

For PML-N:
PM Office
Punjab CM
Speaker National Assembly
The right to nominate governors for Sindh and Baluchistan


More articles


Latest article