Friday, June 21, 2024
Friday, June 21, 2024
HomeSportsLahore Qalandars beat Islamabad United by 119 runs in PSL8 encounter

Lahore Qalandars beat Islamabad United by 119 runs in PSL8 encounter

RAWALPINDI: After defeating Islamabad United at the Pindi Cricket Stadium on Thursday, defending champion Lahore Qalandars set a new Pakistan Super League (PSL) record.

In the 26th game of Pakistan Super League (PSL) season eight, table toppers Lahore Qalandars won the toss and chose to bat first against Islamabad United.
Lahore Qalandars posted a total of 226 runs at the loss of five wickets. The entire Islamabad United team was dismissed for 107 runs in 15.1 overs while chasing the target. Lahore Qalandars, who chose to bat first, scored 226 for five with Fakhar’s second HBL PSL century contributing 115 runs.

With an enormous margin of 119 runs, the Shaheen Shah Afridi-led Qalandars defeated United, setting a new record.
The defeat by 119 runs was the largest in the history of HBL PSL, and it marked the second consecutive victory by Lahore Qalandars over Islamabad United with a margin of over 100 runs. Previously, the champions had secured a 110-run win at the Gaddafi Stadium.
Moreover, the Qalandars have made history by becoming the only side to defeat the same team twice in the PSL, once today against United and once on February 27. (110 runs).
Lahore Qalandar: Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Kamran Ghulam, Sam Billings, Hussain Talat, Sikandar Raza, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi ©, Haris Rauf, Zaman Khan.
Islamabad United: Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Alex Hales, Colin Munro, Shadab Khan ©, Azam Khan, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Mubasir Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Hasan Ali, Fazalhaq Farooqi.


More articles


Latest article